Awards and Recognition

C. Graham Carothers
Award of Excellence

The Florida School Board Attorneys Association C. Graham Carothers Award of Excellences is given annually to honor a Florida school board attorney who has demonstrated excellence in the profession as exemplified by C. Graham Carothers, Esquire. Graham Carothers served as the school board attorney for the Leon County School Board and editor of the FSBAA Journal for thirty-five years. He was one of the founders of the Florida School Board Attorneys Association and has always been ready to assist fellow school board attorney facing the challenges of the multi-faceted practice of school law. He greeted your phone call for help with “Hello lawyer, what can I do for you?” He always had time to assist. Ninety-nine times out of a hundred, he knew the answer off the top of his head, citing the appropriate case or statute and, oftentimes, directing the lawyer to the specific spot on the page where the answer could be found. For thirty-five years he truly served as “the school board lawyer’s lawyer” giving countless hours of his time for public education in Florida.

C. Graham Carothers Award of Excellence Recipients
2006 C. Graham Carothers, Esquire (Leon)
2007 Edward J. Marko, Esquire (Broward)
2008 W. Crosby Few, Esquire (Hillsborough)
2009 James F. Lang, Esquire (Alachua)
2010 Ned N. Julian, Jr., Esquire (Seminole)
2011 John W. Bowen. Esquire (Manatee)
2012 Sheree H. Lancaster, Esquire (Gilchrist and Levy)
2013 Franklin R. Harrison (Bay)
2014 Keith B. Martin (Lee)
2015 C. Wesley Bridges, II (Polk)
2016 Daniel B. Harrell (St. Lucie)
2017 Suzanne D’Agresta (Indian River)
2018 Robert Paul Vignola (Broward)

Florida School Board Association’s  (FSBA)
Richard “Spike” Fitzpatrick Award

Richard “Spike” Fitzpatrick was the long serving attorney for the Citrus County School Board. This award is given periodically by the Florida School Board Association in honor of his service to an attorney of one of Florida’s 67 public school districts in special recognition of his or her service to their community, school board and the students in their district.

2010 J. Paul Carland (Broward)
2011 John W. Bowen (Manatee)